Follow

When an Educator creates a class, the Educator chooses a class type of TEACH Free or TEACH (if the Educator's organization has purchased premium seats).  

 

  • If the Educator chooses to make the class type TEACH, the full SmartMusic catalog can be assigned to the students in that class; each student joining the class consumes one of the organization's available TEACH student seats (unless that student is already in another premium class).
  • If the Educator chooses to make the class type TEACH Free, only free titles can be assigned to the students in that class; the Educator can invite any number of students without consuming TEACH student seats. For more information, see our article on Platform Management.

 

At any time, Educators and Administrators can change a class from TEACH access to TEACH Free access, or vice versa. Administrators are able to change the class type of any class in their organization, and Educators are only able to change the class type of their own classes. Note: an Educator or Administrator can only upgrade a class to Premium (TEACH) if the Educator of that class has TEACH access.  

 

Log in to https://admin.smartmusic.com and select Classes. The Classes page appears. Use the Free and TEACH buttons under the TEACH Status column to downgrade or upgrade an entire class. 

 

manage_classes.png

 

The TEACH Student Allocation section is updated to reflect the changes made in the TEACH Status column. 

 

teach_student_allocation.png

 

Or, select Details to open the Edit class details page.

 

details.png

 

There are two different scenarios that could occur next, depending on what class type is currently selected for your class:

 

If the current class type is Free (and the teacher of that class has TEACH access), an Upgrade button appears. Select Upgrade to change the class type to Premium (TEACH). This allocates a TEACH student seat to all of the students that are enrolled in this class (unless a given student has already been allocated a premium seat in another class).

upgrade.png

 

If the current class type is Premium (TEACH), a Downgrade button appears. Select Downgrade to change the class type to Free. This deallocates the TEACH student seats in use by students enrolled in this class (unless a given student is also enrolled in another Premium class).


downgrade.png

 

Once the Class Type has been changed, you are automatically redirected back to the Classes page and the TEACH Student Allocation section has been updated to reflect your changes.